The Developer

HEINER BASIL MARTION

Heiner Basil Martion grew up in the Fifties in a small village in Germany’s Rhön area. With a natural technical bent, he al ready showed an interest in nature and technology at an early age. As a young man, he was an impassioned member of various local bands; an experience that soon that fired up his enthusiasm for music and good sound. Yet it was not just the music or technology alone that attracted him, but rather the aspects that connected them.Heiner Basil Martion studied the theoretical fundamentals under Prof. Krause at Berlin’s TU university, graduating in studio technology. He gathered plenty of practical experience, contributing to his upkeep during his studies by building loudspeakers, working on surround sound optimisation and doing studio work.

In 1973, he was a joint founder of the ARCUS company, which produced many test-winning products. His further personal development and his fascination for the natural advantages offered by horn technology led him and two engineers in 1976 to found his own company, which proudly presented the first hi-fi spherical wave horn at the Berlin IFA exhibition in 1977. This was the birth of the EXODUS and since then it has been developed continuously. It always led the field in the tests featured by the specialist press. Many experts in the business listened to EXODUS speakers at home, irrespective of the products that they had ostensible interests in. In music production the EXODUS was, and is, used as the ultimate monitor and it still continues to reliably perform valuable services in theatres and clubs.

The end of the Eighties heard an extremely loud blip, when suddenly the CD appeared and pushed vinyl to one side. The sterility and harshness of the first digital recordings were hushed up by normal speakers, but understandably revealed in full by high end systems. The joys of high end diminished clearly. The musical culture of a large community became more and more overshadowed by the musical preferences of the masses.

A creative pause of several years helped Heiner Basil Martion gain new views and provided him with strength to take on new projects. In the meantime, vinyl records and turntables were in demand again, as was valve technology. The digital medium had also developed and improved in sound considerably.

From 1997, Martion collaborated with several specialised companies to build a new system: the ORGON. This was an active horn loudspeaker system which broke through all previous barriers. The result was first presented at the HIGH-END 2000 exhibition and was awarded the much sought-after rating “Best sound of the show”. In the autumn of 2000, a detailed test was presented by Joachim Pfeiffer in AUDIOPHILE. Conclusion: “Best loudspeaker that we are aware of”.

While the ORGON was gaining ever more friends for life, Martion developed a new idea. He wanted to build a compact, transportable monitor that was as suitable for soft music as it was for powerful music and which should have a price per pair of under 4,000 €. At the HIGH-END 2003 show, the BULLFROG was ready and was also used by other exhibitors (TESSENDORF) as a demonstration loudspeaker. Right from the start, the BULLFROG met with great acclaim: not just because of its moderate price. In July 2003, Holger Baske subjected it to a detailed test in STEREO. “Without doubt, the Bullfrog is the greatest compact loudspeaker of all time. And that’s from both constructional and sound points of view”, he stated, ranking its ‘value for money’ rat ing was ‘Excellent’. A pleasant confirmation to Heiner Basil Martion and a team that had been supporting him for years, as well as proof of how it is that partner companies that make these successes possible.

PDF Developer

Press

Now we come to the best sound of the show. The big Martion Orgon four way horn speaker is really something special. Electrostatic resolution with real life dynamics, give me more, please.

Stereo

read the article

Der Entwickler

HEINER BASIL MARTION

In den 50iger Jahren wuchs Heiner Basil Martion in einem kleinen Dorf in der Rhön auf. Handwerklich geschickt setzte er sich schon bald mit Natur und Technik auseinander. Als Jugendlicher spielte er mit Leidenschaft in verschiedenen regionalen Bands, was seine Begeisterung für Musik und guten Sound früh weckte. Doch waren es weder die Musik noch die Technik allein, die ihn reizten, sondern immer wieder die Möglichkeiten ihrer Verbindung.

Die theoretischen Grundlagen studierte Heiner Basil Martion an der Technischen Universität in Berlin und schloss bei Prof. Krause in Studiotechnik ab. Praktische Kenntnisse sammelte er reichlich, da er seinen Unterhalt auch schon während des Studiums mit Lautsprecherbau, Raum-Klang-Optimierungen und Studioarbeit finanzierte.

1973 war Martion Gründungsmitglied der Firma ARCUS, die viele Testsieger hervorbrachte. Seine eigene Weiterentwicklung und seine Faszination der naturgegebenen Vorteile der Horntechnologie ließen ihn jedoch 1976 mit zwei Ingenieuren eine eigene Firma gründen, die auf der Funkausstellung 1977 stolz das erste Hifi-Kugelwellenhorn präsentierte. Die EXODUS war geboren. Seit dieser Zeit wurde sie konstant weiterentwickelt. Aus den Vergleichtests der Fachzeitschriften ging sie stets als Siegerin hervor. Viele Brancheninsider, welche Produkte sie auch nach außen vertraten, hörten zu Hause über die EXODUS. Bei Musikproduktionen wurde und wird sie als finale Abhöre eingesetzt und tut in Theatern und Clubs bis heute zuverlässig ihren Dienst.

Ende der achtziger Jahre kam der Knick: In erstaunlicher Geschwindigkeit verdrängte die CD die Schallplatte. Die Sterilität und Härte der ersten digitalen Produktionen, die normale Lautsprecher verdeckten, wurde von filigranen Systemen verständlicherweise aufgedeckt. Die Freude an musikalischem High-End verringerte sich spürbar. Die entstandene Musikkultur einer großen Gemeinde wurde mehr und mehr vom Musikkonsum der breiten Masse überlagert…

Eine mehrjährige kreative Pause verhalf Heiner Basil Martion zu neuen Sichtweisen und gab ihm Kraft für neue Projekte. Inzwischen waren auch schwarze Platten und Plattenspieler wieder gefragt. Röhrentechnik wurde wieder geschätzt. Auch das digitale Medium hatte sich entwickelt und im Klang erheblich verbessert.

Ab 1997 baute Martion in Zusammenarbeit mit mehreren spezialisierten Firmen ein neues System auf: die ORGON, ein aktives Hornlautsprechersystem, das alle bisherigen Limits durchbrach. Zur HIGH-END 2000 wurde das Ergebnis zum ersten Mal vorgestellt und erhielt wegen der unglaublichen Resonanz das begehrte Prädikat “Best sound of the show”. Im Herbst 2000 folgte ein ausführlicher Test von Joachim Pfeiffer in der AUDIOPHILE. Fazit: “Bester Lautsprecher, den wir kennen”.

Während die ORGON immer mehr Freunde fürs Leben fand, entwickelte Martion eine neue Idee: Er wollte einen kompakten, transportablen Monitor bauen, der gleichermaßen für zarte wie für heftige Musik geeignet sein und dessen (Paar-)Preis unter 4.000 € liegen sollte. Zur HIGH-END 2003 war die BULLFROG fertig und wurde gleich von anderen Ausstellern als Vorführlautsprecher eingesetzt. Von Anfang an stieß die BULLFROG auf helle Begeisterung, und das nicht nur durch ihren moderaten Preis. Holger Baske unterzog sie im Juli 2003 in der STEREO einem ausführlichen Test. “Die Bullfrog ist zweifellos der größte Kompaktlautsprecher aller Zeiten. Und zwar konstruktiv wie klanglich”, lautete sein Kommentar; das Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis erhielt das Prädikat “Exzellent”. Eine schöne Bestätigung für Heiner Basil Martion und sein Team, das ihn seit Jahren unterstützt und wie die Partnerfirmen diese Erfolge erst möglich macht.

PDF Zur Person

Presse

Nur wer das Detail beherrscht, schafft das faszinierende Ganze

AudioPhile

Artikel lesen